About Us

The Otago University ITF Taekwon-Do Club was founded in 2000 by Kris Herbison while he was a student at Otago University, who is now head instructor of the Riccarton Taekwon-Do Club in Christchruch. In 2003, the club was named the International Taekwon-Do Club of the Year. Due to the transient nature of the student population in Dunedin, instruction of the club has changed hands several times! In 2005, Russell Stuart and Richard Lavin (former head instructor of the Khandallah Taewkon-Do Club in Wellington and New Zealand World Champs representative) took over as instructors. Ana Rakonjac subsequently took over and was the instructor from 2009 to 2013. The club instructor is now Dean Jenkins, 3rd Dan. Additionally, there have been many assistant instructors over the years!

The club has a good record of tournament participation. We actively encourage students to compete at a regional and national level and run additional training sessions for those who are interested.